Forum Homepage Various PCQ Microsites Subscribe to our newsletters Subscribe to PCQ Print Edition Contact us for Advertising Solutions Contact us for any other queries
  FAQ   Search   REGISTER   Login

CIOL Network SITES


All times are UTC + 5:30 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: APC UPS problem
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 3:02 pm 
Offline
Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 12:58 pm
Posts: 10
UPS "BACK-UPS ES 500" using the USB cable named 940-0127B FCI since it
work well with windows my problem is that I want to work it with PCQLinux 2005
UPS won't make any indicating sounds while in Linux so
making unaware of the power failure!. apcupsd is enabled in service
configuration window. when selecting the apcupsd status window shows the
error message

FATAL ERROR in apcaccess.c at line 278
tcp_open: cannot connect to server 0.0.0.0 on port 3551
ERR=Connection refused

I gone through the article "Safely Shutdown your Linux Server" no use, is it because of the article is too old?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:36 pm 
Offline
Grand Master

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:34 pm
Posts: 4100
Finally a APC UPS user! I too own the same UPS. The error you are getting is because the script cannot connect to the server. It should be running on port 3551. Just do a netstat -ln | grep 3551 and you should get an out put like this:

tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:3551 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN

Also, did you configure the service? I hope you're using the apcupsd-std RPM.

_________________
Above all :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: still in dilemma
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 2:45 pm 
Offline
Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 12:58 pm
Posts: 10
netstat -ln | grep 3551 in not showing anything for me. What can I do to make a entry like
"tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:3551 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN" this? The rpm which I installed/using is "apcupsd-3.10.13-1.1.fc3.rf.i386.rpm" which accompanies with PCQLinux.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:59 pm 
Offline
Grand Master

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:34 pm
Posts: 4100
install apcupsd-std. remove the current rpm that you're using.

_________________
Above all :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 4:24 pm 
Offline
Apprentice

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 12:58 pm
Posts: 10
installed apcupsd-std.(apcupsd-std-3.10.15-1.i386.fc1.rpm) still no way the same old error


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 1:35 am 
Offline
Grand Master

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:34 pm
Posts: 4100
didn't you edit the configuration? I'll post my configuration when I boot to linux.

_________________
Above all :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 5:30 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered BY phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group